28 Jul 2015

Zahid Hamidi is new DPM

KUALA LUMPUR, July 28—Datuk Seri Ahmad Zahid Hamidi is the new deputy prime minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak announced today.

In a hasty press conference held in Putrajaya this afternoon, Prime Minister Najib confirmed rumours that Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin would be dropped as his deputy.

Rumours spread earlier today that Muhyiddin along with other ministers critical of Putrajaya’s handling of 1Malaysia Development Bhd (1MDB) would be dropped as part of a Cabinet reshuffle.

“I can accept differences of opinion and criticism as part of the decision-making process. But as Cabinet members, differences of opinion shouldn’t be expressed openly that can affect public perception towards the government,” Najib said during the press conference.

“The decision to replace Muhyiddin was a very difficult one, but I had to do it so a strong team can move forward.”

Muhyiddin had during the weekend urged Najib to satisfactorily explain the 1MDB controversy, claiming that he and other ministers were unaware of the “real facts”.

This resulted in a rare public rebuke from the Prime Minister’s Office yesterday, which urged Muhyiddin and other members of the administration not to pre-judge the ongoing investigations on 1MDB.

According to Najib today, Zahid Hamidi will also continue to be home minister.

Four other ministers were dropped in the Cabinet reshuffle: Rural and Regional Development Minister Datuk Seri Shafie Apdal, who was replaced by Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob; Natural Resources and Environment Minister Datuk Seri G. Palanivel, who was replaced by Datuk Dr Wan Junaidi Wan Tuanku; Domestic Trade, Cooperatives and Consumerism Minister Datuk Seri Hasan Malek, who was replaced by Datuk Hamzah Zainudin; as well as Science, Technology and Innovation Minister Datuk Dr Ewon Ebin, who was replaced by Datuk Wilfred Madius Tangau.

Muhyiddin’s Education Ministry portfolio was split into two: Education and Higher Education.

The new education minister is Datuk Seri Mahdzir Khalid and the new higher education minister is Datuk Seri Idris Jusoh.

- See more at: http://www.themalaymailonline.com/malaysia/article/zahid-hamidi-is-new-dpm#sthash.luL4c4dr.dpuf

Zahid Hamidi is new Deputy Prime Minister

PUTRAJAYA: Datuk Seri Ahmad Zahid Hamidi is the new Deputy Prime Minister, Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak announced today.

Ahmad Zahid, who is also Home Minister, replaced Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin.

Najib, in a live media conference from the Prime Minister's Office here, said the decision was made to ensure his administration remains committed.

In the announcement, seven individuals were appointed as new ministers -- three of them deputy ministers who were promoted, two former ministers reinstated into Cabinet, and two new ministers.

The deputy ministers promoted are Datuk Hamzah Zainudin (Domestic Trade, Cooperatives and Consumerism Minister), Datuk Seri Wan Junaidi Tuanku Jaafar (Natural Resources and Environment Minister), and Datuk Seri Mahdzir Khalid (Education Minister).

The two former ministers reinstated into Cabinet are Datuk Azalina Othman (Minister in the Prime Minister's Department) and Datuk Seri Ong Ka Chuan (International Trade and Industry Minister II).

The two new faces are Datuk Wilfred Madius Tangau (Science, Technology and Innovation Minister), Datuk Seri Salleh Said Keruak (Communications and Multimedia Minister).

Apart from Muhyiddin, four other ministers who were dropped include Datuk Seri Mohd Shafie Apdal, Datuk Seri Hasan Malek, Datuk Seri G. Palanivel and Datuk Dr Ewon Ebin.

The announcement came on the heels of a Cabinet reshuffle speculation, sparked by an Utusan Malaysia report this morning.

Below is the full list of ministers and their respective portfolios.

Prime Minister/Finance Minister: Datuk Seri Najib Razak

Deputy Prime Minister/Home Minister: Datuk Seri Ahmad Zahid Hamidi

Transport Minister: Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai
Deputy Minister: Datuk Ab Aziz Kaprawi

Health Minister: Datuk Seri Dr S. Subramaniam
Deputy Minister: Datuk Seri Dr Hilmi Yahaya

Defence Minister: Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein
Deputy Minister: Datuk Mohd Johari Baharum

Deputy Home Minister: Datuk Nur Jazlan Mohamed
Deputy Home Minister: Masir Anak Kujat

Second Finance Minister: Datuk Ahmad Husni Hanadzlah
Deputy Finance Minister: Datuk Chua Tee Yong
Deputy Finance Minister: Datuk Johari Abdul Ghani

Education Minister: Datuk Seri Mahdzir Khalid
Deputy Minister: P. Kamalanathan
Deputy Minister: Chong Sin Woon

Higher Education Minister: Datuk Seri Idris Jusoh
Deputy Minister: Datuk Mary Yap Kain Ching

Domestic Trade, Cooperatives and Consumerism Minister: Datuk Hamzah Zainudin
Deputy Minister: Datuk Ahmad Bashah Md Hanipah

Natural Resources and Environment Minister: Datuk Seri Wan Junaidi Tuanku Jaafar
Deputy Minister: Datuk Hamim Samuri

Tourism and Culture Minister: Datuk Seri Nazri Abdul Aziz
Deputy Minister: Datuk Mas Ermieyati Samsudin

Urban Wellbeing, Housing and Local Government Minister: Datuk Abdul Rahman Dahlan
Deputy Minister: Datuk Halimah Sadique

International Trade and Industry Minister: Datuk Seri Mustapa Mohamed
International Trade and Industry Minister II: Datuk Seri Ong Ka Chuan
Deputy Minister: Datuk Ahmad Maslan
Deputy Minister: Datuk Lee Chee Leong

Energy, Green Technology and Water Ministry: Datuk Seri Maximus Ongkili
Deputy Minister: Datuk Seri James Dawos Mamit

Plantation Industries and Commodities Minister: Datuk Seri Douglas Unggah Embas
Deputy Minister: Datuk Noriah Kasnon

Agriculture and Agro-based Industry Minister: Datuk Seri Ahmad Shabery Cheek
Deputy Minister: Datuk Seri Tajuddin Abdul Rahman

Rural and Regional Development Minister: Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri
Deputy Minister: Datuk Alexander Nanta Linggi
Deputy Minister: Datuk Ahmad Jazlan Yaakub

Foreign Affairs Minister: Datuk Seri Anifah Aman
Deputy Minister: Datuk Seri Reezal Merican Naina Merican

Communications and Multimedia Minister: Datuk Seri Salleh Said Keruak
Deputy Minister: Datuk Jailani Johari

Science, Technology and Innovation Minister: Datuk Wilfred Madius Tangau
Deputy Minister: Datuk Abu Bakar Mohamad Diah

Women, Family and Community Development Minister: Datuk Seri Rohani Abdul Karim
Deputy Minister: Datuk Azizah Mohd Dun
Deputy Minister: Datin Paduka Chew Mei Fun

Works Minister: Datuk Seri Fadillah Yusof
Deputy Minister: Datuk Rosnah Abdul Rashid Shirlin

Human Resources Minister: Datuk Seri Richard Riot Jaen
Deputy Minister: Datuk Seri Ismail Abd Muttalib

Federal Territories Minister: Datuk Seri Tengku Adnan Tengku Mansor
Deputy Minister: Datuk Dr Loga Bala Mohan

Youth and Sports Minister: Khairy Jamaluddin Abu Bakar
Deputy Minister: Datuk M. Saravanan

Ministers in the Prime Minister's Department:

* Datuk Seri Jamil Khir Baharom
* Datuk Seri Idris Jala
* Datuk Azalina Othman
* Tan Sri Joseph Kurup
* Datuk Wee Ka Siong
* Datuk Seri Abdul Wahid Omar
* Nancy Shukri
* Datuk Joseph Entulu Anak Belaun
* Datuk Seri Shahidan Kassim
* Datuk Paul Low Seng Kuan
* Datuk Mah Siew Keong

Deputy Minister in the Prime Minister's Department:

* Datuk Asyraf Wajdi Dusuki (Islamic Affairs)
* Datuk Razali Ibrahim
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...